Abilene Christian University
Amberton University
Austin College
Baylor University
Concordia University
Dallas Baptist University
Hardin-Simmons University
Houston Baptist University
Howard Payne University
Huston-Tillotson University
Jacksonville College
Le Tourneau University
Lubbock Christian University
McMurry University
Our Lady of the Lake University
Rice University
Schreiner University
Southern Methodist University
Southwestern University
St. Edward's University
St. Mary's University
Texas Christian University
Texas Lutheran University
Texas Wesleyan University
Trinity University
University of Dallas
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
University of St. Thomas
University of the Incarnate Word

Welcome to Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, Inc. (ICUT) 


Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, Inc. (ICUT), a nonprofit association, is the voice for Texas' fully accredited private colleges and universities. For over 50 years, it has fulfilled its mission of helping policymakers recognize the importance and value of the independent sector of higher education by successfully articulating the sector's needs and aspirations.

ICUT supports Texas independent nonprofit colleges and universities by strengthening member institutions through advocacy, policy research and collaboration.

Specifically, our programs help our member institutions:

  • advance educational opportunities for students,
  • address financial needs of families,
  • promote economic opportunities for communities,
  • foster relationships with businesses, and
  • inform and advise policymakers.

To learn more about our membership, check out the following:

Want to stay in the loop? Sign up for our email newsletters!